1.) There is a State of New Jersey program that offers businesses up to $10,000 in salary reimbursement if you hire unemployed New Jerseyans.
The rules and application process are simple:
– Your new workers must be paid $10 per hour or more
– Your new workers must be unemployed New Jersey residents
– The positions must be full-time and long-term employment
– The on-the-job (OTJ) training contract will be 12 or 26 weeks, depending on the complexity of skills needed
2.) Starting in March, employers will no longer be able to ask about criminal history during the initial hiring process in New Jersey.
That is the result of the New Jersey Opportunity to Compete Act signed into law by Governor Christie this past August. Key points:
– You may no longer include “Have you ever been convicted of a crime?” on an application form
– You may not verbally ask that question in the first interview
– You may still conduct a background check, but only after the initial application process is complete
– You may not include language that says you will not consider applicants who have been convicted of crimes
There are exceptions and more specifications.
Read our entire article here.
Stay current with the latest regulations, news and opportunities. Follow us on Twitter. Sign up for our news alerts.