When New Jersey’s Paid Sick Leave Act goes into effect on October 29, people who work in New Jersey will be able to take up to five sick days without losing any pay. Cooper Levenson’s Russell L. Lichtenstein, Esq., chairman of the Labor & Employment Practice Group, is offering a free white paper explaining key provisions of the new law to employers.
“The Act represents a significant change in the law related to sick leave,” explained attorney Russell L. Lichtenstein, Esq., chairman of the Labor & Employment Practice Group at Cooper Levenson, P.A. “Employers will need to make certain that their payroll and human resources departments understand these changes and are ready to implement the new law when it becomes effective.”
New Jersey’s Paid Sick Leave Act requires employers to provide up to 40 hours of paid sick leave per year to covered employees. The new state law preempts any municipal laws for earned sick leave, so employers will need to review and adjust their policies to comply with the act’s requirements prior to its start, according to Lichtenstein.
Under the Act, sick leave is broadly defined to encompass an employee’s own health needs or those of a family member, including an individual whose close association is equivalent to a family relationship. Sick leave also covers parent-school conferences.
Full-time, part-time and seasonal employees each will earn one hour of sick leave for every 30 hours worked with a maximum of 40 hours sick time per benefit year. There are exemptions, such as construction industry labor under contract and per diem healthcare employees.
Lichtenstein is offering a free white paper that explains New Jersey’s New Paid Sick Leave Act in greater detail, and that provides key action items for businesses to take to ensure they are in compliance. For a copy, contact firstname.lastname@example.org.